Action and reaction, ebb and flow, trial and error, change – this is the rhythm of living. -Bruce Barton

First of all, tell me: is it a myth that stress causes ulcers?

Here’s what’s happened since October 30th of last year (I’m providing bullet points, because I might prove to myself that all of this, in the grand scheme, really isn’t that monumental):

  • We moved 500 miles, unassisted, with a 2 & 4 year old, and a dog. We moved everything ourselves. Every. Single. Thing. Packed each box and each piece of furniture onto the Budget truck. With a 2 & 4 year old, and a dog, in case I didn’t mention that. 2 & 4…dog.
  • We moved into a cute rental house. The house was pretty okay, except for the jungle-esque yard, complete with poison ivy and a tree that was dead and dangerous. The “landlord” was broke and not, um…in a good frame of mind, & let the house go into foreclosure. Before it was official, and we got to live a few months rent-free, dealing with her, various realtors she’d given a sob story to, and Fannie Mae was a daily headache. We sought alternate housing (YAY!).
  • My kids left the comforts of their pre-school, stayed home for 2 months, then started at a new school (which they loved, but is always a little unsettling). Both of them were very happy at the new place, and we’ll continue to send Lennon there next year.
  • The last day of school, when the kids going to Kindergarten were supposed to have a special lunch and presentation, there was a tornado warning. We sat it out in the basement and went home. Meh.
  • We bought a beautiful home in July in a friendly neighborhood on a tree-lined street. It has a front porch, a patio, new appliances…it’s my dream home. So, 9 months after moving 500 miles, we packed up again and prepared for the 1 mile move…and called a moving company.
  • We moved last Friday. Monday, Elliott went from being a stay-at-home-dad to working full time.
  • I had a car wreck with my kids in the car. We are all fine. We are well-insured. No one had a scratch, but me, who had a few bangs. My poor kids were pretty wigged out though (so was I).
  • In 8 days, Noel starts 5 day a week, full-day Kindergarten.
  • In 7 days, he will get his first pair of glasses.
  • In 3 weeks, Lennon starts 3 day, full-day pre-school.
  • For this month, I continue to work full-time from home, and take care of the boys while Elliott’s at work.

Is it just me, or does that seem like a lot? I mean, right now, I have time to sit down and write all this out, so certainly it’s not life-ending, and they’re definitely first-world problems. And if I can relax about it all, take a day, breathe, get the house organized (which we started to do yesterday, and it looks lovely), and above all put it all into perspective, I am pretty certain that it will all turn out just fine.

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Action and reaction, ebb and flow, trial and error, change – this is the rhythm of living. -Bruce Barton

  1. anna holler says:

    What the hell…o?

    You had a car wreck? How did I miss this? I’ve just been in lala land. and my phone is broken. Let’s set up an IM date.

    Just so you know, I think that you are a brave woman to weather all of these changes so seamlessly. You are my hero, laura seymour.

  2. Sarah says:

    I need a nap just reading it.

  3. Jen M. says:

    Ditto everything in the above comment!

  4. Jennifer M. says:

    Wait! I meant ditto everything in the FIRST comment. But the second comment definitely applies too…

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

