Kindergarten baby, sitting in gravy

Who came up with THAT saying?

Noel started his first day of kindergarten today. I couldn’t sleep last night. I was the only one tossing an turning. I still feel like I should be rocking him to sleep in my arms in his nursery. I kept wondering what his first day would be like, who would he befriend? Would he be ok finding the bathroom? Are they providing a snack today, or do I send one (I sent one, just to be on the safe side)? Will his teacher understand how awesome he is? Will she pick up on subtle things like we do (I hope so)?
My fears and questions fell by the wayside when we pulled up to the building. We all got up to the school & Noel ran up to the building. When the entry bell rang at 7:45, he had a grin on his face, and ran down the hall, ahead of us, unintimidated by the throngs of adults and big kids all around. I was overwhelmed with pride. What a cool kid.
He put his backpack on a hook next to the others, already lined up, and found his seat. There was a coloring page out and waiting for each student. He smiled at me and said, “Look! I have my own cup of crayons!” I asked the teacher if he could start coloring, and she said, “Of course!” He went to town, we said our goodbyes & gave hugs…and that was that.

20110816-104930.jpg

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in I am the Walrus, In My Life, Noel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kindergarten baby, sitting in gravy

  1. Molly Huie says:

    Wow! Go Noel! Sad and awesome at the same time.

    Is that a hair cut?

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

