Gettin’ by’s my stock in trade.

This month I’m taking a cue from Jerry Jeff Walker. It has been a little wild and crazy with Elliott starting a full-time job, Noel starting school, Lennon still home until September, and working full-time myself. We’re making it work, and although I’ve had some late nights & early mornings, I’ve enjoyed spending more time with my kids. We are very lucky that I am able to work from home and have a flexible schedule. I am also indebted to my parents and a couple of friends, who have helped me out tremendously and filled in when I’ve needed to make up some time.

In a couple of weeks, Lennon will start school full day, 3 days a week, so things will settle down and even out, and I won’t find myself napping on the couch in the middle of the day. I earned Mother of the Year Award today, when I had a particularly bad headache and asked Lennon to watch Clifford while I took a catnap. A while later, he woke me up to ask if I would make him lunch. I flashed back to a 15 year old, when I heard myself say, “Five more minutes!”

Noel and Lennon are both faring well since The First Day of Kindergarten. Noel started wearing glasses on day 2, and he’s doing great with them. We’ve gone almost a week, and he’s not misplaced them yet, so maybe he’s got more of his dad in him than I thought. He looks so smart & handsome too…

Here is a self portrait he drew of himself at school. On his head is a trick arrow. Yes, a trick arrow. I know. I died too.

We bought a new stroller yesterday. Yes, I know…I have a 3 & 5 year old, and I’m buying a stroller. It’s the sit & stand, so I can walk them to & from school with the least amount of wailing and gnashing of teeth possible. After the first full day of school, the walk home was less than pleasant, and I made the executive decision that if we were going to be walking, this was a necessary purchase. It made ALL the difference. Half a mile is nothing to me, but when your legs are a foot long, it gets dicey. Today was much better. After we dropped Noel off, we (I) hoofed it to the park where Lennon showed off his muscles.

August, we will conquer you yet.

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gettin’ by’s my stock in trade.

  1. Amy M says:

    a trick arrow. hug him for me. i love him.

  2. Li Li says:

    uh, bravo on the stroller. fo reals. i srsly want to buy a giant one for the girls right now because going anywhere with them is like trying to herd cats.

    ps– noel is ADORB in those glasses.

    pps– i want a fake arrow.

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

