2011. You Went Fast.

Most of the time, I don’t even know what day it is.

I feel like this year has been a haze of Groundhog Day days. A lot changed this year, and they were good changes, but I clearly take a while to adapt. I sort of feel like I’m in high school again, and each day I am getting further behind in the text book.

This gives me a lot of anxiety, that I just keep inside. But I wear it. It’s in my face. So, in 2012, I resolve to smile more. Relax more. Let things go. Take more time to just sit and look out the window. Or do a puzzle. Or just not be in front of a screen.
Here’s what I managed to do this year that I am really proud of:

  • Get both of my kids to school on time and pick them up on time every. single. day. NO tardies here, dudes.
  • Now, this is not me, exactly, but I hope it reflects well on my husband’s and my parenting abilities (that I am OFTEN beating myself up about): We are told all the time by people at our childrens’ schools that they are both a pleasure and great kids. It’s just nice to know that people that we trust our kids with also think they are special guys.
  • Started working with people I enjoy & doing work I love. Learning so, so, so much.

Here’s what I didn’t do, and that I want to do differently:

  • Stop worrying so much. Life isn’t perfect. Get over it. What will be will be. Be here now. Blah, blah, blah. I failed. I vow to do better.
  • Smile more. I think just the act of choosing to smile makes me feel better. Don’t you?
  • Manage my time well. Schedule. Chalkboard. Whatever it takes. SCHEDULE.
  • I feel like by not doing the above, I have not been the wife & parent that I could be. If I can get the above in order, this will be a natural byproduct.

So, I’m off now, to start my calendar. Goodbye 2011. You were wild.

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011. You Went Fast.

  1. Pingback: My Smile Campaign | Two Little Rockstars

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

