My Smile Campaign

Sometimes I’ll catch myself as I walk by a mirror or a window where I see my reflection. Here’s what I see: a woman with pursed lips, a scowl, hunkered over (not all the time, but enough). Since the new year, when I see this hateful wench, I tell her to stand up taller and smile. Guess what? She’s much nicer. She might even be a little pretty. Most importantly, her smile is beautiful.

I was thinking about this little girl in my son’s class. I’ve NEVER seen her one time when she hasn’t been smiling. It’s not because she’s just 5, and kids have no worries. As kid’s troubles go, she’s had the lion’s share. She is just a happy person. She’s kind of an inspiration to me.

A few weeks ago I said that I wanted to start making a point to smile more. When I find myself feeling mad or just cranky about nothing, I’ll tell myself to smile. You know what? It works. It makes me feel better. If I’m out somewhere, and I’m making a conscious effort to smile, I notice other people smiling back. Maybe, instead of us parents giving each other the mutual “Aren’t our kids annoying?” eye-roll when we’re in public and our kids are spinning around Target like the Tilt-a-Whirl, let’s give each other a smile, because what are you gonna do?? Sometimes I need to remind myself (okay, a LOT of times) that my children are just kids. They aren’t always going to have such free spirits, and I try to embrace the craziness and smile and laugh along with them.

So far, I think my personal smile campaign is going okay. It could always be going better, though. I have a lot to smile about, and a lot to be grateful for, namely, my sweet husband and my darling kids…so, I’m going to keep smiling.

What turns your frown upside down?

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in E$, I am the Walrus, Idiots Guide to Parenting, In My Life, Lennon, Love Is All You Need, Noel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Smile Campaign

  1. annaholler says:

    Sometimes I see photographs taken of me while I was intently listening to something that someone else was saying and wonder how anyone ever speaks to me. I always look angry. Also, when I pretend to smile GIANT in pictures, it always just looks like a normal smile. lol

  2. tracey says:

    I have been doing this, too. It’s nice to make someone else’s day happy, isn’t it?

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

