Virgin Earth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m seeing evidence of a person that I haven’t seen around in a while…or maybe ever.

I’m the kind of person that can only hear one person talking at a time, or I get really flustered and frustrated. I can only focus on one conversation or thing at a time. I think that may be the trouble I have with the internet. It’s always alive and chattering, but often-times, it’s not the dull hum of a beehive. To me, it’s a lot of noise, everyone playing their own tune, and the sound is absolutely deafening.

So, again, it’s time to take a moment and hear my own music. I like what I’m hearing. I’m giving myself more time to be here and write, in silence, without checking a social network in between sentences. I’m taking time to wake up a body that I thought was moving on into middle-agedness and stagnancy and getting it moving. It’s done wonders for me, in every aspect of my life. I’m as surprised as you might be to hear me say that I’m enjoying it more than I could have dreamed.

I’m also realizing that there is a mother, a wife, a daughter, a friend, an employee, a volunteer, and more (so much more) who just can not take on the world. Saying yes to the important things, and saying no when I should, has always been a challenge. I never want to disappoint anyone, but when I am in over my head, everything and everyone suffers~no one more than me. There is one me, and only so much time. My priorities have always been clear to me, but it’s not ever been clear where I need to draw the line. Right now, I can safely say that my dance card is full, with the most important people and things standing beside me.

I have faith that as I tread lightly forward, I’ll be heading into new territory. I’m confidently moving toward me: happy, healthy, balanced, and surrounded by a loving, supportive community~one that will help guide me through these endeavors and find my footing on this virgin earth.

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Virgin Earth

  1. cockefairchair says:

    A nice meditation on how to step off the treadmill. You didn’t blame anyone or anything, not even yourself. You just tried to do something about it.

    Love
    mom

  2. annaholler says:

    I feel as though you and are are united at the soul Laura. I hear you loud and clear. I feel like I could have written this blog post myself. xoxox

  3. Shosh M says:

    I need more time in silence.

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

