It’s Time For a Better Me

 

The other day, a friend’s mom told me that she thinks 2013 is going to be “my year”. Can I be honest and say that I think I agree?

Part of my year, starting in this one, has been in trying to make myself feel good about being me. If you know me in person, you know that I’m a bit of a ragamuffin. I’m used to looking like I just woke up from a nap. I’ve even kind of embraced it. Now, I’m going for less ragamuffin and more the “Oh, I actually plucked THESE clothes out of the clean unfolded laundry and got dressed! See! These are pants with a defined waist!” And please ignore the fact that my T-shirt says “Fig Newton Federation” and just be glad that it’s not the shirt I slept in, dig?

I’ve also got a great friend who recently opened a salon that offers manicures, pedicures, massages, and waxing. The me that actually got dressed in real pants this morning is also embracing a little pampering every so often. I’ve never, ever been one to do anything like this, but it feels so nice to take just a little time to take care of me. I walk out of there a little taller (especially after an amazing fullsage).

I try to attend yoga 3 times a week. If I make it 4, bonus. I wish I could tell you how beneficial this has been for me, but I think it’s almost something you have to experience for yourself. Aside from a major body transformation (read: yoga is not for sissies), my mind is in such a better place. It’s been life changing in so many positive ways.

There’s also something on the horizon that will take me out of my comfort zone, but will be incredible. I’m looking forward to working closely with my equally neurotic (yet equally fun and loveable) friend Erin. We’ll tell you about it tomorrow. We are bouncing off the walls excited and ready to vomit at the same time. It’s going to rock.

I am excited for 2013 Laura already.

 

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

