With Love.

I originally wrote this as my Listen To Your Mother submission. I have since changed my mind, as I wanted to share something a bit more light-hearted & comedic with the KC audience. I still feel like this has it’s place, here, in print.

me & neen

I have snapshots in my mind of moments with my grandma. I loved her dearly, and adored spending time with her. My grandmother, Neena, as we all called her, always had the refrigerator loaded in anticipation of my arrival- all the favorites-ice cream, oranges, hamburgers or home made fried chicken. She would let me watch as much cable TV as I wanted: Golden Girls and Dallas at night, Pinwheel on Nickelodeon in the morning.
She would get on the floor and play board games, cards, & dolls, even though it wasn’t easy for her to get back up, after broken back bones and a hip. We’d take special trips to McDonald’s, and she’d always trade me her Quarter Pounder for my Happy Meal Cheeeseburger.
She would light up at the sight of any of her children & grandchildren, and smiled from ear to ear when all of her tribe was together, usually for a holiday or birthday.
Sadly, my Neena, one of my favorite people in the world, and Queen of grandmothers, passed away when my oldest, Noel, was just 6 weeks old. Living in another city, they never had the opportunity to meet.
Several years back, when my sons, Noel & Lennon, were 2 & 4, we decided to move our family to Kansas City, where I grew up, and where my parents still lived. Still in the same Brookside home that I grew up in. One month we were visiting, and 8 weeks later, we rented our Texas home out & moved to a house about 2 miles from my parents.
Kansas City was where we belonged – I knew it deep inside me.
Now, my boys have lots and lots of time to spend with their own Neena. Just this week, they went to their Neena and Grandpa’s for a sleepover. Neena let them watch as much Johnny Test as they wanted (and probably another program that they all pinky swore
they wouldn’t tell mom & dad about). They had McDonald’s for dinner, then went to the grocery store for Lunchables & ice cream – rare treats in our home. She probably got on the floor and played with cars or Hex Bugs, even though it’s not easy for her to get up, after breaking her ankle late last year.
Tonight we went to my parents home for a birthday dinner. When she opened the door to let her grandsons in, she beamed. When I sat next to her, as she talked and joked with everyone, she smiled from ear to ear.
Why we were so compelled to pack a 20 zillion foot U-Haul, a dog & 2 young boys up to be in Kansas City, I’ll never know, but I’m so grateful that my children will cherish these memories of their Neena. And they are so lucky that she learned how to be a grandparent from the best.
This is dedicated to my grandmother, Lois Logan, who passed away 7 years ago yesterday, on St. Patrick’s Day. We still miss her every day.

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to With Love.

  1. Lance says:

    You sons have great names,especially Lennon. wonderful story.

  2. Laura says:

    Thank you, Lance! We love their names too. 🙂

  3. Tracie says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your grandmother – it sounds like you had wonderful times and memories with her. It is such a precious thing to grow up around your grandparents and have a chance to build that relationship with them when you are young. It is great that your boys are getting that in their lives.

    • Laura says:

      Thanks, Tracie. It is so special to see their relationship grow as their mom/daughter. It’s something I hope they never take for granted.

  4. So beautiful, Laura! I didn’t have much of a relationship with any of my grandparents. The one you had sounds lovely, and your kids are so lucky.

  5. neilochka says:

    My grandmother passed away when I was in college, which is now a long time ago. But I still remember so much about her, from her tuna fish sandwiches to playing Scrabble.

  6. Leslie says:

    I love this story- reminds me of my gran and also makes me sad that my kids dont have this save for my own mom who lives 9 hours away….. damn- making me cry already this morning…. this is beautiful Laura.

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

