Exploring

I have heard a lot about The Local Pig, and as the granddaughter, great-granddaughter and great-great-granddaughter of butchers, I went on a mission to check it out today. As I typed it into my Google Maps app, I realized it was in a part of town I was wholly unfamiliar with, but undeterred, I set out with the boys. Google Maps didn’t disappoint and lead me right to the door of my destination. One that seemed to be smack dab in the middle of nowhere. Dirt roads, train tracks, a cereal mill, a smattering of homes and old buildings, a honkey-tonk, and The Local Pig are about the only things here in the East Bottoms. Noel said it creeped him out because these buildings “all look like they were built around 2006 and must be really old”. When I told him he was probably off by about 100 years, he said that he was EVEN MORE creeped out. I assured him that we were fine, and, “Hey, doesn’t that look like an old fire station?”

IMG_4206

 

And, “Don’t you wonder what this used to be?”

IMG_4207

 

And, “Hey! There’s a train! Awesome!”

IMG_4205

 

We got what we came for at the butcher shop and went around the corner to their food truck, Pigwich.

From the picnic tables at The Local Pig & Pigwich. Beautiful cliffs.

From the picnic tables at The Local Pig & Pigwich. Beautiful cliffs.

We had an unbelievable cheeseburger & sat outside, watching a train go by, and taking in the scenery. I was happy to have stumbled on this interesting little area. One of the best things about living in a big city, particularly for me, is realizing how much more is out there, outside of our usual stomping grounds. There is more to be discovered. We’ve only scratched the surface.

What’s your favorite neighborhood? Where are your favorite places to explore in Kansas City?

About Laura

"We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit." -e.e. cummings
This entry was posted in E$, I am the Walrus, Idiots Guide to Parenting, In My Life, Lennon, Love Is All You Need, Noel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's the Story, Morning Glory?

